Why Can't I Get It Right?

Decorating By sarzoemom Updated 13 Oct 2006 , 7:17am by cupcake

sarzoemom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarzoemom Posted 8 Oct 2006 , 4:26am
post #1 of 5

I am new to decorating and am expeirementing with differant frostings and fondants. So far as far as fondant goes, I hate the store bought and found a great recipe for covering my cakes with but that is about it. I have also tried MMF because everybody it seems uses it. I hate it so far. I have made it 3 times and each time has been awful. The first, it was to hard and dry and I worked it for 15 minutes, heated it and added water and it never came out right. The next time, I worked it and got it to where I could roll it out but when I tryed to do anything else with it, it would crumble. Next time, I tried the modified recipe with the crisco added. I THOUGHT I would like it but it was so greasey that it NEVER DRIED! AND IT STILL CRACKED! What am I doing wrong? Is it me? HELP!!!

4 replies
reenie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reenie Posted 8 Oct 2006 , 5:03am
post #2 of 5

That's the same problem I have with it too. It's either too mushy and sticky or too dry and crumbly... I think if I ever have to cover a cake in fondant again, it's gonna be done in Satin Ice. I hear nothing but good things about it. I'll leave to MMF for cake decorations.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 8 Oct 2006 , 5:22pm
post #3 of 5

I used MMF for awhile to save money but it was hard to get it right. It was either too soft...or too dry. It just wasn't as reliable. Plus if I need alot...I don't have patience to make several batches. AND I know my KA mixer handled it ok but I felt like I was taking years off the mixer's life.