Cake Box Questions!

Decorating By EmilyGrace Updated 9 Aug 2007 , 6:51pm by EmilyGrace

EmilyGrace Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EmilyGrace Posted 7 Aug 2007 , 8:30pm
post #1 of 11

Hello! I'm making my first tiered cake for a wedding this coming weekend and the manager of the reception site has asked that I drop of the cake in a box labeled with the couples names and wedding dates. I'm wondering how I go about doing this? Do they make boxes big enough to hold a three tiered cake? I'm most likely going to transport the cake in three seperate boxes and set it up there. however it doesn't sound like i'll be able to set the cake up on the cake table. Do I just set it up in their kitchen and trust them to move it to the cake table? Sorry for all the questions! I'm very new to this!
Thanks!
Emily

10 replies
Deana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deana Posted 7 Aug 2007 , 8:52pm
post #2 of 11

not sure what to do about transporting..

but at my local cake store (wine and hobby) they do sell a huge box designed for tiered cakes..\\

I certainly wouldn't trust them to move it... if that is your only option, I would certainly have the planner/coordinator sign off on your invoice that she has received that cake and once you leave the premises, you are no longer responsible for it.

mccorda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mccorda Posted 7 Aug 2007 , 9:01pm
post #3 of 11

I wouldn't want anyone else setting up one of my tiered cakes. They wouldn't know which is the front (the better looking side - don't we all have those icon_smile.gif )
I wouldn't want them to store it in the kitchen either. I did that once, in an office off the kitchen of a restaurant - The buttercream absorbed the greasy fried food smell/taste into it and made my cake the most disgusting tasting thing ever. I have never been so embarassed about one of my cakes!