First Tastings Questions...i've Got Some Serious Jitters....

Business By hsmomma Updated 29 Jul 2007 , 2:33pm by leily

hsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hsmomma Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 5:29pm
post #1 of 10

Well, I decided to jump back in after years and years...
Things are different now, back then I only got referrals for Wedding Cakes from people who tasted my cakes. That made it really easy, meet with them, sign a contract...done.
Now, all these years later, the Brides are asking for a "tasting" which I have no problem with. I actually get caught up in the whole Wedding thing. But, I've never done one before...eventhough I've done Wedding Cakes.
SO~ in just a few days, I have 5 Brides and their Grooms coming for a tasting. (It started out as just a couple of Brides/Grooms....) and I'm trying to come up with the best presentation for this. I would like to have them sample 3 different cake flavors and 2 or 3 fillings/frostings. Do I make cupcakes? Or is it better to make cakes in loaf pans, torte them and cut into slices. Cupcakes are easy but, they seem like all "crust" if you know what I mean. Unless I make the jumbo cupcakes...but, then it seems like TOO much cake for a sampling. Even if I only did 2 flavors of cake. It seems like alot on a plate for them. I would never be able to finish 2 jumbo cupcakes in one sitting (well...with people watching anyways LOL)
Any suggestions?...what works the best for you. Help me with my jitters...any advice?
I am only going to do one tasting a month (hence the 5 brides at one time ~ one actually canceled the tasting and just sent a deposit...otherwise I would have had 6). The baking isn't an issue...I've got time set aside to do it. I just wonder what is the "best" way to do it. I'm really looking forward to it, I just want it to be a great experience for them. And I want it to be great for me too.