Can You Soften Butter In Micro For Buttercream?

Decorating By Krisy Updated 21 Sep 2006 , 7:54pm by toristreats

Krisy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Krisy Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 5:48pm
post #1 of 22

Or is this a HUGE no-no??

Just trying to get moving. I'm a newbie and had to run out and buy my butter today.

Thanks,
Krisy

**Giving the Buttercream Dream a try...I have never made my own frosting before. Well except for some major basic sugar cookie frosting.

21 replies
mbelgard Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbelgard Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 6:01pm
post #2 of 22

I wouldn't do it for something like that. You'd have to be VERY careful to get the butter soft but not melted.

sweetamber Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetamber Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 6:02pm
post #3 of 22

Yes! I do it all the time!

My formula is 1 minute per pound on power level 2 (Defrost), turn over, and 1 more minute per pound on power 2. If I'm doing less than a pound, say 1 or 2 sticks, I'll do 30 seconds per side on power 2. Just be careful not to get it too soft icon_smile.gif .

Amber

jen1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jen1977 Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 6:03pm
post #4 of 22

MAYBE on 40-50% power for a few seconds at a time. I've heard of people grating their cold butter on a cheese grater if they don't have time to sotfen it, but haven't tried it myself.

awolf24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awolf24 Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 6:05pm
post #5 of 22

I agree with mbelgard - very tricky. Better not to risk it. I've found that if I preheat my oven (I have a range) the top part between the burners just gets slightly warm and I can speed up the process of getting butter to room temperature if I put the sticks on it - just like a minute on each side. Sounds weird but in a time pinch, it works!

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 6:08pm
post #6 of 22