Coloring Fondant

Decorating By Babarooskie Updated 28 Jul 2007 , 1:53pm by mannjc

Babarooskie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Babarooskie Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 6:21pm
post #1 of 13

Hi everyone..

I'm fairly new to cake decorating, but I have a quick question.
I see everyone here has fondant cakes that are red, green, pink, etc.

How do you get your fondant that color? Is Fondant sold like that?
Please help me with this..

Thanks so much!!

12 replies
Cassie1686 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cassie1686 Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 6:44pm
post #2 of 13

fondant is sold in some colors, or you can just knead food coloring into it. If you color it yourself, use the americolor food coloring, it works best, and satin ice fondant is definitely easiest to color and work with. This is what I usually do. The only time I use precolored fondant is if I need a very dark or bold color, like bright red or dark brown.

Babarooskie Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 6:46pm
post #3 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassie1686

fondant is sold in some colors, or you can just knead food coloring into it. If you color it yourself, use the food coloring, it works best, and satin ice fondant is definitely easiest to color and work with. This is what I usually do. The only time I use precolored fondant is if I need a very dark or bold color, like bright red or dark brown.

Thanks so much for your help!

bunnys26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bunnys26 Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 7:00pm
post #4 of 13
Quote:

fondant is sold in some colors, or you can just knead food coloring into it. If you color it yourself, use the food coloring, it works best, and satin ice fondant is definitely easiest to color and work with. This is what I usually do. The only time I use precolored fondant is if I need a very dark or bold color, like bright red or dark brown.

How do I order Satin Ice Fondant and does it have a good taste to it?

Cassie1686 Posted 25 Jul 2007 , 7:03pm
post #5 of 13