First And Last Fondant Cake!!!

Decorating By mhill91801 Updated 18 Sep 2006 , 4:32am by Princess3

mhill91801 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mhill91801 Posted 18 Sep 2006 , 12:03am
post #1 of 21

My son HAD to have this cake for his 5th birthday tomorrow (from the Debbie Brown "Cartoon Cakes" book). I have never worked with fondant before, except for the occasional accect I would add to my buttercream cakes. Never again!! What a pain in the butt!!! I don't know how those of you who always work with fondant do it! Good thing you can't see the back of Tom's head. I mean, I consider myself pretty good with buttercream. I'm not a professional, but for a hobby I don't think I'm that bad. Boy did this cake crush my ego. I thought it would be fun, and give me some experience, but honestly I don't think I will ever use fondant again. (Except like I said for adding accents). Kuddos to those of you who do such an excellent job! I have a new respect for you! Anyway, enough rambling, and here is the finished product....
LL

20 replies
brightbrats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brightbrats Posted 18 Sep 2006 , 12:06am
post #2 of 21

I think you did a terrific job. thumbs_up.gif

SilkwoodStudios Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SilkwoodStudios Posted 18 Sep 2006 , 12:08am
post #3 of 21

i agree, its cute as he#*, dont give up, remember how "perfect" your first buttercream cake was??

Kate714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kate714 Posted 18 Sep 2006 , 12:09am
post #4 of 21

I think it looks great!!! don't be so hard on yourself!!

rayven Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rayven Posted 18 Sep 2006 , 12:10am
post #5 of 21

I think it's an adorable cake! I think you did a great job for your first fondant cake.

midgit1205 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
midgit1205 Posted 18 Sep 2006 , 12:10am
post #6 of 21