How Do I Cover A Cake Board In Fondant?

Decorating By cakejunkie Updated 15 Sep 2006 , 6:59pm by cakejunkie

cakejunkie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakejunkie Posted 13 Sep 2006 , 10:59pm
post #1 of 8

I have never used fondant before and I was wondering how to cover a cake board in fondant. I am making 2 cakes, both using the wonder mold. One is a witch and the other is a cauldron. I would like to make a spooky tree out of MMF, but I am not sure how to get tree to stand up right on the fondant covered board. How would you make it stick and not fall over?

7 replies
Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 14 Sep 2006 , 12:03am
post #2 of 8

Making the tree with a skewer in the center might work. I don't know how well the branches will stay in position. You could also make the entire frame with wire including "prongs" that would stab into the cake board.

Good luck.

M.

bkdcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bkdcakes Posted 14 Sep 2006 , 12:24am
post #3 of 8

You also might use some waffle cones stacked together for the tree trunk. Make the branches & let dry before attaching to the trunk - you might want a little gum-tex or something mixed with the MMF to stiffen it a little bit...I'm not sure about that.

boring Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
boring Posted 14 Sep 2006 , 12:54pm
post #4 of 8

to cover your board just put some spray on the board then roll your fondant out with a bit left over so it hangs a little over the sides then you can trim the side. the spray will hold your fondant firm. To transfer from where you roll out just turn the fondant over on what you have rolled it out on onto the board and rub gently to secure it to the board.

As for your tree I would put a wod of fondant as the base of the tree and that will stick to it self or just put a bit of watrer under it to secure it to the fondant covered board.

cakejunkie Posted 14 Sep 2006 , 3:25pm
post #5 of 8