So Stupid...how To Avoid This?

Decorating By danar217 Updated 19 Jul 2007 , 9:45pm by azeboi2005

danar217 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
danar217 Posted 19 Jul 2007 , 2:23pm
post #1 of 15

I am just starting out, usually just doing stuff for my family and friends. I have been getting a couple of orders and I seem to go overboard. For instance, a mom just called for a golf cake and one dozen cupcakes. She said just something simple for the cupcakes to match the golf ones, even just green icing. So I gave her the price for that and she said great. Well then I went out of control. I covered them with green grass, made little fondant golf balls and put a flag on each one with a 9 (9th b-day). She loved them. But since she said something simple, I felt like I couldn't charge her for the extra work. I always do this....do more than the customer asked for. Then I don't feel like I can charge for it since they didn't ask for it, it's just an added bonus for them.

Any tips on giving quotes so that I cover myself? How can I word it that it may be extra if I go crazy on their order?? Or do I just suck it up and not get paid for it. Help!! I can't be the only one who does this!

14 replies
darandon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darandon Posted 19 Jul 2007 , 2:35pm
post #2 of 15

I don't think you can word it that you will charge extra because you go crazy and do more. It is a bonus for them, that they didin't ask for. Take your price and figure out how much extra you are doing and mark it up a small percent before you even give them the original quote. Or, just realize you are going to go nuts.

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 19 Jul 2007 , 3:16pm
post #3 of 15

I look at things like that as an investment in my portfoilio. I just tell people, now please don't tell anyone what you paid for these.

infields Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
infields Posted 19 Jul 2007 , 3:38pm
post #4 of 15