Help!!! Please

Decorating By AidensMommy06 Updated 18 Jul 2007 , 7:42pm by AidensMommy06

AidensMommy06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AidensMommy06 Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 4:23pm
post #1 of 11

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this cake decorating stuff and I'm loving it. My question is (ok questions) how do you get the edges either sharp or curved on the icing?. I noticed that some come out sharp but others have this curve to them and short of cutting the cake edge to make it softer I'm not sure how to do that.

Also when I tried to make MMF it kept coming out really sticky. I wasn't sure what to do with it at that point, it was so sticky I couldn't even knead it. Ideas?

Last question for the IMBC, I can't seem to find cream of tartar ANYWHERE. Can I make this recipe without it? or is there a substitute?

Thanks for all your help!

10 replies
GeminiRJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GeminiRJ Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 11

I'm not going to be much help, sorry. I'm a little unclear about the edges? Some cake pans are made with a bevel...is that what you're seeing? The MMF question is definitely one that someone else should be able to answer. I'm assuming you need to add more powdered sugar? Kinda weird that no one around you carries cream of tartar. I thought every grocery store carried it!

AidensMommy06 Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 6:14pm
post #3 of 11

You're probably right about the edges. They don't have it! to think I live in NY and no cream of tartar!
I will try adding more PS

thanks for replying! icon_smile.gif

AidensMommy06 Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 6:14pm
post #4 of 11

You're probably right about the edges. They don't have it! to think I live in NY and no cream of tartar!
I will try adding more PS

thanks for replying! icon_smile.gif

JulesM7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JulesM7 Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 6:21pm
post #5 of 11