I'm Terrified!

Decorating By Alyson88 Updated 19 Jul 2007 , 1:56am by flowers40

Alyson88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Alyson88 Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 8:50pm
post #1 of 12

I am new to cake decorating and have been taking the Wilton classes. My family are not cake people at all and I want to practice and make cakes. Anyways my Uncle said if I made a cake he would definetly take it to work and the people there will eat anything. So I've made this yellow cake, chocolate filling, and buttercream icing but i have the biggest fear that it will taste horrible. I am terrified to let him take the cake and it taste like crap. How do you send a cake out with confidence?!?! icon_redface.gif I guess it's a stupid thing to be worried about but I can't get it off of my mind!

11 replies
NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 9:15pm
post #2 of 12

It sounds delicious!! And I am sure it will taste just awesome! Don't fret=) Jen

marybible Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marybible Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 9:46pm
post #3 of 12

I worried about that too when I first started out. But I find the more cakes I do, the more confidence I get. Also when you get feedback from the people who eat the cake also helps. Time and experience will ease your nerves..

Mary

Alyson88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Alyson88 Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 4:16pm
post #4 of 12

Thanks for the boost of confidence!

Machel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Machel Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 11:44pm
post #5 of 12

You can always save the top after you level your cake and put a little filling and icing on it and taste it. I made the huge mistake of not tasting a sponge cake and took it to a party and it was awful - super salty for some reason. Quite embarrasing.

nmrunyon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nmrunyon Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 11:51pm
post #6 of 12