Newbie Questions!

Baking By aminaz Updated 18 Jul 2007 , 8:40pm by TooMuchCake

aminaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aminaz Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 8:30pm
post #1 of 13

i'm new to cookie decorating but got inspired by the video on youtube where a lady shows you in detail how to make, bake and decorate a cookie. so i thought i will give it a go and see how it goes .i've never really tasted big cookies like the ones shown here but they look yum. i wonder how long they will last before they start to become soggy? how to you apply icing so evenly? do you use a spatula like in cake decorating or a knife?
how long before can it be made before it can be given as a present?
i've got plenty more questions but i'l ask only these for now! hope someone can help?! icon_biggrin.gif

12 replies
TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 9:37pm
post #2 of 13

I use a variation of Wilton's roll-out cookie recipe, which is not very different from the No-Fail recipe you can find here.

We once did an experiment to see how long a cookie would still taste good, and we left one on the counter for three weeks. No small feat around this house, I assure you! While it didn't taste exactly *fresh* it didn't taste bad, either. icon_rolleyes.gif I don't recommend giving three-week old cookies to your friends, but I don't have a problem giving my friends cookies that are a few days old.

Deanna

TooMuchCake Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 9:47pm
post #3 of 13

As far as the icing goes, I personally use royal icing to ice my cookies. Some people like to use fondant cut-outs or a glaze. The royal works for me, though, so I do that.

Don't forget to show us pictures of your cookies when you make yours!

Deanna

aminaz Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 8:23am
post #4 of 13

thanks deanna for your advice.