Box

Decorating By Relznik Updated 17 Jul 2007 , 1:27pm by Relznik

Relznik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Relznik Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 10:42am
post #1 of 10

Hi

This is my first time using the forums (I usually just browse the cake pictures) so I hope I've put this in the right place.

I'm doing the following cake for Saturday, but I've no idea how to go about doing to box on top.... I need it to look like the bride and groom are bursting through the top.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i163/Relznik/Hayleyweddingcake.jpg

Any ideas would be very gratefully received.

thank you.

Suzanne x

9 replies
sparklynne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sparklynne Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 10:58am
post #2 of 10

Maybe you could make the box sides out of gumpaste or a fondant and let dry then assemble them with some royal. As for the top I would make another gumpaste/fondant square that had the same width as my sides and score it in the center by cuting and X shape in the middle and rolling the points of the X back over crumpled wax paper til it dried. When time to assemble, Assemble your sides with royal. When sides are dry assemble the top piece carefully with royal and add the bride and groom to the inside. Just a thought. I haven't ever tried something like this yet but seems like it would work. icon_smile.gif Good luck
Sincerely
Lynne

DebbyTCL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DebbyTCL Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 11:00am
post #3 of 10

I would make the box in pieces, (Use fondant or gumpaste) including the top, and let them dry completely. If you are adding decorations to the sides of the box, do it while it is laying flat. Assemble it with thick royal icing. (Put the top together after you have the bride & groom placed inside of the box). Hope this helps. Post photos when you have it done. Want to see!!!

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 17 Jul 2007 , 11:22am
post #4 of 10

or the box could be a square cake.