California Laws

Business By domestic_diva Updated 20 Jul 2007 , 8:13am by shifty

domestic_diva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
domestic_diva Posted 14 Jul 2007 , 10:24pm
post #1 of 5

Okay can someone help me with California laws for having a cake decorating business?
What I've gathered from the forum is that you must bake the cakes in a structure that is not connected to your living space.

Is this for any cakes I make a profit from?
It's a side business, I make like 5 cakes a month.
And I'm still learning so I don't make that much anyways.
So does that even count as a business?

And I've been to the California Secretary of State website...
I'm sure the answers I'm looking for are SOMEWHERE on that
site but seeing as I've never owned a business or anything before
I'm kind of well....

I'm LOST I'll admit it.

4 replies
Jeffsgal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeffsgal Posted 15 Jul 2007 , 5:07am
post #2 of 5

Domestic Diva......thanks for asking this question.
I've been wondering this as well.

I just don't have a clue where to start.
I've been reading experiences of others on this site, and it seems so daunting!

While I don't have your answer, I hope to gain from the replys.

Fairytale Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Fairytale Posted 15 Jul 2007 , 5:26am
post #3 of 5

They don't take into consideration the number of cakes you do. The problem has to do with access by the public health department. They cannot go into a private residence for inspection. Also, they have tons of regulations, including having stainless steel counters, etc. The other consideration is getting a business license. Residential areas have lots of restrictions.

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 6:47pm
post #4 of 5