Bridal Show Information For A Newbie...

Business By hsmomma Updated 25 Jul 2007 , 7:20pm by michellenj

hsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hsmomma Posted 11 Jul 2007 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 24

I've never done a bridal show before and am debating signing up. I need to register by the end of the week if I am going to do it.

I just wonder if it is really worth the money? The booth is 325.00 (which sounds cheap compared to other cities). Last year they had 200 Brides with a total of 500 people attending. They had 1 other cake person there. She was an independent baker, with prices starting higher than mine, though she looks like she has more wedding experience. (I did my research..lol)
This show is out of my city but, within my delivery range. There are many more bakers in the area. Though many of them are in a much higher price range. What do you think?

Or, am I better off spending the money on advertising?

What is something you wish you knew before you did your first show? Any tricks or advice?

How many (I know this all depends...but, for curiousity...) Brides do you typically book at a show? Do you actually book them there (as in you take a deposit) or do you pencil them in and get back with them to book? What is your standard procedure? What should I expect?

Do you take your albums and idea books (of cakes you haven't done)? How do you figure out how many sample peices of cake to have? 1 per person? How do you serve your samples? I bought the mini cupcake tins and thought about making those. Good idea or no? Do you take a "helper" with you?

Any other advice? I'm really new at this and would LOVE to learn from your experience.
TIA Kristen

23 replies
mnmmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mnmmommy Posted 11 Jul 2007 , 5:03pm
post #2 of 24

i would love to know this info too.

Kristen, what city do you live in?

Thanks
Michelle

hsmomma Posted 11 Jul 2007 , 5:12pm
post #3 of 24

Michelle, I'm in Michigan. Near Jackson.