Filling Vs. Icing

Decorating By hollybu20 Updated 1 Sep 2006 , 3:35am by german

hollybu20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollybu20 Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 2:19pm
post #1 of 18

Hi everyone! Newbie here and I have a silly question I'm sure. I read all of your posts and picture details, and I see that most of you use some sort of filling in between your layers. I'm new to decorating, well pro-decorating, so I want all of your opinions. I grew up eating eating my mom's cakes and she always used the buttercream between the layers as well as to frost. Is there a particular reason you all use fillings, like the raspberry one I read so much about? Does it make it easier to stack cakes? Prettier? I'm making my first three tiered cake and I wanted to know if you all thought I should use a filling in between layers rather than buttercream. Thank you all so much for your help, you have no idea how helpful you are to us newbie's!!

17 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 3:13pm
post #2 of 18

Using BC between your layers certainly makes it easier but I think it is not as tasty as some of the other fillings out there... and you can combine some for great flavor combo's. Frosting between they layers isn't bad, I think it's just more simple.

I know that everyone who asks for cake always wants a filling.... french vanilla custard is the most popular and then whipped ganache or that raspberry puree too.

cakemommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemommy Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 3:23pm
post #3 of 18

Different fillings give a great variety on a plain ol' white cake. It's also a great way to try different flavor combinations.

The cake I'm doing for Sept. 8th is a white chocolate cake with a homemade blackberry filling! I'm sad that I won't be getting my own piece of that one!

Amy

hollybu20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollybu20 Posted 31 Aug 2006 , 5:20pm
post #4 of 18