Disappointed With Reaction (Or Lack There Of)

Decorating By SeptBabyMom Updated 11 Jul 2007 , 10:52am by MomLittr

SeptBabyMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SeptBabyMom Posted 9 Jul 2007 , 4:09pm
post #1 of 39

I made a cake for a coworker's daughter on Saturday. I have been decorating cakes for a couple of years now but have only done for family and friends, never charged for any of my cakes to date. But I would like to start making some money at this on the side. I just figured every cake I do is exposure for me and eventually people will start asking.

I'm after making 3 cakes now and taking them to work, one for a Easter potluck (which was a HUGE hit and they ended up selling tickets on it, ha ha), another one for a baby shower here, and another for some guys that graduated from university. Each of my cakes have been a big hit and I love getting that feedback. So one of my coworkers asked me weeks ago if I'd make a cake for her daughter. We didn't discuss price or anything. If I'm hoping to make money at this, I KNOW I need to make this more clear to people in the beginning. I was wondering and hoping that she'd offer me money for the cake when she picked it up. Even though we didn't discuss pricing, she KNOWS I'm wanting to make money at this.

She picked the cake up on Saturday, but she didn't make a big deal out of it at all. She said "How much." and I was relieved that she at least offered. Because she is my coworker, I said "Oh just the cost will be fine." So we agreed on $20. I believe that I undercharged, but it's ok. BTW, this was my first paid cake.