Sharing My Cake!

Decorating By Darthburn Updated 30 Aug 2006 , 7:53pm by Aztec9206

Darthburn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Darthburn Posted 30 Aug 2006 , 6:34am
post #1 of 11

I'm new to all of this, and as I have mention in other posts, I'm learning from practice and reading on the internet. So far I made a practice cake, a cake for my mom, and now a cake for my wife. It's really fun.

I wanted to share the third cake with you all. It's Jack Skellington and I made it for my wifes birthday tomorrow. the base is 2 layer 12 x 14 chocolate that was originally going to be a tombstone, but I never cut due to how much cake would be wasted. His body is 4 layer 4 x 8. His neck is actually a Scott towel roll wrapped in Saran Wrap, buttercream and then fondant. For a head I used the Wilton ball pans. Base is buttercream, everything else is fondant with icing details. I custom made the stand to support his body. The tie is gumpaste tinted black.

So if you have any ideas or comments for me I would love to hear what the professionals think! I could use some good tips so that the next Jack is 10x better! Thank you all!

Shannon
LL

10 replies
TandTHarrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TandTHarrell Posted 30 Aug 2006 , 6:49am
post #2 of 11

thats really wish i could do something like that.....

emilykakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emilykakes Posted 30 Aug 2006 , 9:55am
post #3 of 11

I love that movie!!! I think that he looks awesome! You did a great job!

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 30 Aug 2006 , 10:04am
post #4 of 11

I just love Newbies who think outside the box!

Great job on Jack.

Now, as you construct these characters, you may consider getting the digital camera out and taking step-by-step photos, that can be posted as a tutorial on the site.

Welcome to the forum!

Theresa icon_smile.gif

katharry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katharry Posted 30 Aug 2006 , 10:19am
post #5 of 11