Help From Cake Dummy Users/bridal Show - Please

Decorating By MillyCakes Updated 6 Jul 2007 , 3:43am by CelebrationsbyLori

MillyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MillyCakes Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 4:20pm
post #1 of 7

Okay - I have a chance to do a local bridal show in a few months and as a teacher, I use my summers to plan out things like this. Does anyone every use cake dummies to show off their buttercream cakes? I do fondant but most of my business is buttercream.

My question really is - does anyone have experience with showing buttercream dummy cakes?

I really need some advice. Please! I want to do this first show right!

6 replies
miriel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miriel Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 7

I'd be worried about BC going bad so I will use royal icing to decorate styrofoam dummies, using BC techniques. It will keep better that way.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 6:31pm
post #3 of 7

BC on a dummy does not go bad. I use BC exclusively (crisco recipe). Had a dummy cake set up for 10 months and only scraped it off because I needed the styrofoams for another project.

I use a good crusting BC .... when I use it on my cakes, it's delicious. When I put the same stuff on my styrofoams, it turns hard as concrete (so you can touch it all you want .... no fingerprint dents will show up!). Dont' ask me why .... I've no idea.

I dont' wet, grease, saran or press-n-seal the dummies either. BC straight onto the styrofoam.

Samples of my styro cakes in the gallery ... Autumn Pearls, M&M, Fuscia Fantasy and the 50th Anniversary cake are a few of them.

MillyCakes Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 7:25pm
post #4 of 7

Thanks - hey - my show is in January and so I think I will plan and make a few cakes over the next couple of months and see how they do!! Thanks!!

flavaz scoop shop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flavaz scoop shop Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 7:38pm
post #5 of 7