$16 For An 8"!!??? Vent

Decorating By step0nmi Updated 6 Jul 2007 , 2:51pm by step0nmi

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 3:47pm
post #1 of 45

Well, as I am still new to pricing but, I KNOW that I am charging what I'm worth! But, I just called my local bakery to price an 8" and $16 is the answer!!! icon_eek.gif What! I think that is too low! How do they do business! I can't charge that much! I need at least double what my supplies are! Which for my 8" would be $23! That is a LOT more! I know that they are a bakery, they buy in bulk, they have people to clean (or just more employees) but, I AM ONLY ONE PERSON!! i CAN'T CHARGE THAT! icon_eek.gificon_cry.gif So I feel bad but, I am going to charge my cousin $23. That is for the box, the board, all my supplies, my time....I have to charge what I'm worth! My mom said charge $20 but, then I'm not getting my supplies back from my board and such...This sucks! I hope she still wants it! Anyone else run into this problem?? icon_cry.gif

Stephanie G.

44 replies
kerri729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kerri729 Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 3:56pm
post #2 of 45

Hey fellow wisconsinite! Yep, all the time..........the local bakery here is very similar, and I agree, I can't compete. If the customer wants a delicious cake, and are willing to pay for it, then you are in good shape, if you have those who check out all the prices in town, you could be in trouble. I hate it that Sam's can do a full sheet cake for $26, the local grocery store begins at $42, and the bakery in town does it for $50..........it really does suck! What do you charge for tiered or wedding cakes per slice? My local grocery store bakery charges $1.25 per slice........again, I can't compete.

southerncake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southerncake Posted 5 Jul 2007 , 4:08pm
post #3 of 45