Gum Tex/gum Paste

Decorating By Kate714 Updated 5 Sep 2006 , 3:12pm by mug

Kate714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kate714 Posted 25 Aug 2006 , 4:04pm
post #1 of 20

I would like to practice making baby booties, but I've never used gum tex or gum paste before. I know some people have suggested adding gum text to fondant. Is that easier to work with than using the gum paste recipe on the Wilton can of gum tex??? Which do you recommend for a newbie?!?

thanks!

19 replies
prettycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycake Posted 25 Aug 2006 , 4:07pm
post #2 of 20

It works well even with plain Marshmallow Fondant..as long as you let it dry completely. icon_smile.gif

nenufares Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nenufares Posted 25 Aug 2006 , 4:14pm
post #3 of 20

I love working with wilton's gumpaste. If this is the first time for you, I'll suggest to buy the ready to use one. Gumpaste will dry hard faster than fondant. While working with gumpaste, cut your pieces and cover them with some plastic wrap until ready to use or they will dry.
Store your leftover gumpaste in plastic wrap and then in a plastic bag (take the air out).
If you are using fondant (wilton's, homemade, mmf, etc) put a little bit of gumtex to accelerate the drying process. Put 1 teaspoon for each 12 oz of fondant (thats like about a big grapefruit).
Here is a tutorial for baby boots:

http://community.webshots.com/album/283308759UqOctN

prettycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycake Posted 25 Aug 2006 , 4:18pm
post #4 of 20

actually I have the cutters for this..it comes in three parts.
It's good quality plastic. If your not in a rush, Fondant would also do well. icon_smile.gif

Kate714 Posted 25 Aug 2006 , 4:47pm
post #5 of 20

I have a batch of fondant already made, but I figured I can't add the gum tex to that now. Can I really make them with just fondant? They will just take longer to dry? I just don't have any plans for this fondant and would hate to waste it.