Total Newbie!!!

Decorating By rickq Updated 4 Feb 2007 , 3:15am by Angelbaby1973

rickq Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rickq Posted 24 Aug 2006 , 12:51am
post #1 of 21

My name is Rick and my wife thinks I am scary!

With that said this is why I am here. I saw a episode of "Ace of Cakes" and I heard Duff say he had a background in "Graffiti art". That was all I needed to hear because I too have a background in the street arts but I refer to it today as "creative aerosol". icon_wink.gif Today I am married with a son and I am non-active in the creative aerosol field.

But!, I am a creative person and I love to give away custom gifts.

So making a custom cake and giving it away make a good equation for me to learn more about FONDANT Cake design. icon_smile.gif

I made a batch of MMF last night and so far so good. I even videotaped my efforts...I seem to do that sort of thing.(www.gardentrain.blogspot.com)

And so, my question is where can I learn more about what is used when applying airbrushed(food coloring) details to fondant on a cake?...specifically to MMF.

This site has been very resourceful thus far and I congratulate everyone here for keeping this neck of the woods so active.

Fun Stuff!

Thanks, Rick Q.

20 replies
sprtd76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sprtd76 Posted 24 Aug 2006 , 12:55am
post #2 of 21

Welcome to CC. I can't help you on the airbrushing, just wanted to say Hey and welcome to the club. thumbs_up.gif

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 24 Aug 2006 , 12:57am
post #3 of 21

just wanting to say WELCOME!

(and once I have an airbrush...I'll have more of an answer....

tho' from what I've seen...airbrushing fondant just like airburshing any surface, tho' image might spread a bit more than on hard surface, more like spread on a t-shirt or fabric. so if you have experience there....it probably would apply to MMF as well)

and welcome to your new addiction!

cindy6250 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile