Tropical Flowers, I.e. Hibiscus Or Plumeria????

Decorating By Larkin121 Updated 23 Aug 2006 , 8:34pm by Larkin121

Larkin121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Larkin121 Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 4:45pm
post #1 of 7

Hi...this is my first post. I'm brand new to cake decorating and am just finishing the first Wilton course. I have gone ahead of the instructor (who is slow as molasses) and taught myself roses, etc. I'd like to try teaching myself a tropical flower, as I am making a Luau themed cake for my sister this weekend. Can anyone explain or give a link of how to make any sort of flower that looks even remotely tropical?? Buttercream would be best, marzipan would be second best, but I've not yet really tried using the marzipan (willing to give it a shot though...worst that can happen is that they look horrible and then I will just eat them for snack, haha!)

Thanks in advance!

6 replies
springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 5:51pm
post #2 of 7

I know someone here has made hibiscus flowers using royal icing and doing a pansy, but with the larger lily nail. They were very pretty. But you'd really have to go ahead of the instructor and get into the course 2 stuff. I think it might be a little hard to do those types of flowers using buttercream, though you could do a frozen buttercream transfer of a tropical flower like this one I did
LL

springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 5:54pm
post #3 of 7

Me again..here is a picture of the royal icing hibiscus flowers I was talking about. Also if you go into the gallery and search for hibiscus, a lot of pretty cakes come up, might give you some ideas.

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=coppermine&file=displayimage&meta=search&search=hibiscus&cat=0&pos=42&search=hibiscus

fronklowes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fronklowes Posted 23 Aug 2006 , 7:32pm
post #4 of 7