How Do I Get Started With Fondant

Decorating By megal80 Updated 25 Aug 2006 , 12:15am by strawberry0121

megal80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
megal80 Posted 22 Aug 2006 , 4:19pm
post #1 of 21

I have been cake decorating for a couple of years now. I took the Michaels 1st and 2nd course. Now I work in a bakery ~ cake decorating, but I have only ever used buttercream and whipped icings! I want to get started with fondant, but everytime I sign up for course 3 (wilton) it gets cancelled due to not having enough people sign up for it! Any suggestions on self teaching...or good references/books???

PS- New to CC.

20 replies
strawberry0121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
strawberry0121 Posted 22 Aug 2006 , 4:57pm
post #2 of 21

I am VERY new to fondant. Here is what I recommend so far....

Make your own Marshmallow fondant. It is cheap to make and YOU get to flavor it how you want.

If you are sculpting, and you make crabs, their legs will fall off. There are several ways to make "glue" to get them back on, including egg wash, royal icing and piping gel.

Corn starch ROCKS to keep it from sticking if you are rolling it out.

Always use the same color of BC under the findant. If you use blue BC under white fondant, it WILL show through....icon_smile.gif

Always freeze your leftovers. You will be able to use them again later.

HTH!!!!

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 22 Aug 2006 , 5:13pm
post #3 of 21

Hi - I took Course 3 and to be honest, I learned more here at CC about fondant than I did there...

The fondant roses are a nice start and I don't really think they are difficult to make either.... I thought it was pretty fun. The more advanced flowers were not covered in class 3 so I bought a DVD off eBay.... I am waiting impatiently icon_smile.gif for it.

The only thing that continues to throw me off is whether to use shortening or starch and when to use each....cripes, I get confused!