Filling A Cake Question

Decorating By brennafaye Updated 17 Jun 2005 , 6:06pm by Misdawn

brennafaye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brennafaye Posted 17 Jun 2005 , 12:59pm
post #1 of 12

I am fairly new to cake decorating but all I have every put between layers are either standard buttercream or my own home made strawberry Jam. I was hoping someone may have some suggestions of different fillings with recipes and tips on what is good. I am ready to branch out I think. reading the information on this website has added so much to my knowledge. Thank you all for everything that you share from your wealth of knowledge.

Brenda

11 replies
melissablack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melissablack Posted 17 Jun 2005 , 2:38pm
post #2 of 12

My favorite thing to fill my cakes with is pudding. You just mix up a jell-o instant pudding mix, and 5 minutes later you have your filling. You can add extra vanilla to it, or whatever you want. It tastes delicious in the cake too.

I have an excellent strawberry mousse recipe too, if you're interested. That is a little 'fancier' though, the pudding is what I use for my basic cakes.

Melissa icon_smile.gif

Misdawn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Misdawn Posted 17 Jun 2005 , 2:51pm
post #3 of 12

my favorite filling is one that has to be refrigerated, but it is well worth it when you taste the cake. I cream one softened 8 oz. package of cream cheese, one half of a tub of whipped cream, and one package of Jello instant pudding (whichever flavor you prefer). You can refrigerate it before spreading it on the cake if it's too thin, the pudding will start to "set" and make it thicker. My family asks me to make it in all my cakes.

brennafaye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brennafaye Posted 17 Jun 2005 , 4:20pm
post #4 of 12

thanks for the ideas they sound great

briansbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
briansbaker Posted 17 Jun 2005 , 4:46pm
post #5 of 12