Bottom Of 1/2 Sheet Cake Broke Off!!!!!!! What Do I Do!!

Decorating By momof3jotynjake Updated 17 Jun 2005 , 4:00pm by wandy27

momof3jotynjake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momof3jotynjake Posted 16 Jun 2005 , 6:39pm
post #1 of 14

I baked my 1/2 sheet cake today for sunday.. I think i turned it out of the pan too soon! i flipped it out after taking it out of the oven and a piece of the bottom tore apart icon_sad.gif!!!! i dont know what to do?
bake another one or will it still be ok?
the top is fine... I was giong to wrap it... and put in freezer so i can tort it because they want vanilla pudding in the middle.. wha do i do!!!!!!!!!! icon_redface.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_redface.gif

13 replies
veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 16 Jun 2005 , 6:51pm
post #2 of 14

I guess it depends on how big a piece split off! You sound as if it is a large piece! I'm no expert, but I don't think you can tort the cake with a large piece already split. Maybe you can put the filling in where the split is.

This is a pretty big cake, did you put your cooling rack over the pan and then turn it over to get the cake out of the pan? Janice

momof3jotynjake Posted 16 Jun 2005 , 7:00pm
post #3 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by veejaytx

I guess it depends on how big a piece split off! You sound as if it is a large piece! I'm no expert, but I don't think you can tort the cake with a large piece already split. Maybe you can put the filling in where the split is.

This is a pretty big cake, did you put your cooling rack over the pan and then turn it over to get the cake out of the pan? Janice

yes, that is how i did it,, but i flipped it out on.. then tried to flip it again to get it right side up icon_sad.gif..

momof3jotynjake Posted 16 Jun 2005 , 7:13pm
post #4 of 14

i posted a pic. of the missing piece..what do youthink/

msumissa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msumissa Posted 16 Jun 2005 , 7:22pm
post #5 of 14