Book Recommendations

Decorating By cakesinma Updated 16 Jun 2005 , 12:47am by AgentCakeBaker

cakesinma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesinma Posted 15 Jun 2005 , 1:08am
post #1 of 5

I'm just getting started with cake decorating. I *may* take wilton classes at some point but certainly not until the fall at the earliest.

To give you an idea of where I'm 'at' you can see my first 2 cakes in my photo section. Reading here and on the wilton site, I've read a lot of 'basic' info and I'm starting to apply it to my cakes but I'd like to buy some useful books from which to learn more.

I have the Wilton 2005 yearbook and the Cake Decorating Beginner's Guide by Wilton. Where should I go from here to learn more about decorating?

Also, due to nut allergies I have to make my cakes from scratch. Can anyone recommend a good cake cookbook?

4 replies
llj68 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
llj68 Posted 15 Jun 2005 , 5:34pm
post #2 of 5

I don't really have any great ideas on a cake decorating book--escept for the self courses that you can get on the Wilton method.

However, for scratch-made cakes, I highly recommend "The Cake Bible" by Rose Levy Beranbaum. I love this book as it has many, many wonderful recipes for cakes, icings, fillings, etc. It also has a great section of the chemistry of baking, etc. Hope this helps!!

Lisa

wandy27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wandy27 Posted 15 Jun 2005 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 5

I also recomend The Cake Bible, I think it covers a whole lot. I also like the wilton yearbooks. I use the book Best-Ever Cake Decorating by Angela Nilsen it has the basic cake and icing recipes and easy decorating techniques.

Wandy

Calejo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Calejo Posted 15 Jun 2005 , 7:02pm
post #4 of 5