Best Frosting For Wedding Cakes

Decorating By Wandootie Updated 9 Jul 2007 , 4:25pm by Leashlar

Wandootie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wandootie Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 1:20pm
post #1 of 23

Just poking around to get everyone's feelings on what is the best frosting/icing for wedding cakes....SMBC, IMBC or the old Crisco/butter/powdered sugar recipes?

Just wanting opinios from different folks as to what you like to use and why.

Have a great day, all!

Wandootie

22 replies
gismo12002 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gismo12002 Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 2:00pm
post #2 of 23

Hi--I love the BC icing--tints great--spreads great and easy to decorate with! Holds up to our heat & humidity too! icon_smile.gif

chqtpi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chqtpi Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 2:14pm
post #3 of 23

I have no experience with fondant, but I like to use the Wilton Snow White Buttercream recipe...but instead of adding almond flavor...I use a French Vanilla Blend...I havent had anyone complain icon_smile.gif

snarkybaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snarkybaker Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 2:17pm
post #4 of 23

I use a variation of IMBC on wedding cakes 99% of the time. It is so much more sophisticated a taste that powdered sugar icings, and it holds better at room temp than swiss or french meringue BC.

aobodessa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aobodessa Posted 25 Jun 2007 , 2:22pm
post #5 of 23

Personally, I prefer the Mousseline Buttercream with white chocolate added (from "The Cake Bible"), and here's why:
- It spreads easily;
- seems to have fewer air bubbles;
- smooths nicely;
- keeps well, even in a fair amount of heat and humidity;
- I can make roses with it;
- it pipes wonderfully;
- it has a phenomenal flavor ...

I always tell my Brides that it's a great "supporting cast player" ... it won't compete in your mouth for attention with the cake, instead, it rounds out the flavors of most cakes, making for a really nice taste.