Questions About Fondant & Frosting Preferences.... Thank

Decorating By CakeDiva73 Updated 14 Aug 2006 , 3:11am by cashley

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 12 Aug 2006 , 8:23pm
post #1 of 7

I am basically a beginner and have some questions regarding fondant.... it tastes terrible but looks amazing, so do you all use it? Do you advise the brides/clients about the taste or assume they realize this?

Also, I am experimenting with different icings and I saw a reference to Crisco - do you all use a crisco based frosting for wedding cakes? Almost everyone tells me it is too sweet and grainy but trying to do decorations in other icings tend to not come out as nice as the buttercream... I was tempted to try an Italian Buttercream but the recipes called for TONS of butter and barely any sugar so I was skeptical and a bit cheap icon_redface.gif

I put the cart ahead of the horse and am now getting inquires about wedding cakes ( for next summer, thank goodness) but I have never done one! A mini- tiered is all I have done so I am going to start practicing and I just wanted some advice. I appreciate your time icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
dydemus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dydemus Posted 12 Aug 2006 , 11:29pm
post #2 of 7