Cake Prices-Need Advice

Business By kidscakelady Updated 30 Aug 2006 , 8:19pm by flutist14_99

kidscakelady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kidscakelady Posted 12 Aug 2006 , 3:55pm
post #1 of 10

I am from upstate New York and have been doing cakes for several years now. I am self taught (a lot I learned from watching my mom and grandmother as a child) I have always had a great love for baking and just did cakes for family and friends. Over the past several years, and especially the last 10 months or so, word of mouth has gotten around that I do cakes and I have been getting so many orders. I am being asked more frequently now for larger wedding cakes, anniversary cakes etc. I am having a hard time determining how much to charge people. Would be curious to know what the average going rate is for tiered cakes? Any hints. I want to be sure that I am charging enough but not too much. No one has as of yet complained baout my prices for any of my cakes which makes me wonder if I should be charging more. Any help would be appreciated.

9 replies
candyladyhelen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
candyladyhelen Posted 12 Aug 2006 , 9:07pm
post #2 of 10

You need to do a search of area bakeries & supermarkets & see what they are charging. You then sit down & write all your costs down: from all your ingredients, to cake boards, colors, electric & anything you will use to make your cake. Then decide how much you will tack on to make your price.

jac1105 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jac1105 Posted 12 Aug 2006 , 9:10pm
post #3 of 10

I always add up all my supplies: eggs, oil, board, box, icing...everything and multiply times 3.

lindsaycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindsaycakes Posted 30 Aug 2006 , 7:21pm
post #4 of 10

I, too, am struggling with this question. I have had my business for 3 years, but I continually wonder "Am I charging enough?"
After seeing some of the prices on this website, I think I'm letting my customers off easy! icon_smile.gif