Bct/piping Gel Please Help

Decorating By Crakerz01 Updated 12 Aug 2006 , 3:10pm by Kelrak

Crakerz01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crakerz01 Posted 11 Aug 2006 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 16

Hi everyone. I am new to cake decorating and I really want to design a cake with a character or animal on it. I see everyone has these amazing cakes with cartoons or other animals on it. How do you get them to look so good? I have tried a FBCT once and that was a giant, lumpy mess. I have briefly heard about the toothpick method but I have no ideas what that is. Also I heard you can use clear piping gel to trace an outline. Can someone please tell me what the easiest method is and exactly how you do it. Keep in mind I have decorated only about 3 cakes. Thanks so much!

15 replies
SheilaF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SheilaF Posted 11 Aug 2006 , 5:02pm
post #2 of 16

I wouldn't be so quick to give up on the FBCT technique. Of course, I'm totally hooked on it. You might not have pressed your frosting down enough or had it in the freezer long enough. Feel free to PM me if you need more help with this. I love doing FBCT's.

As for piping gel transfers, this is a basic technique that is taught in course one (I think) of wilton classes. YOu outline your image in piping gel on wax paper, then turn that over onto the cake and gently rub the piping gel till it adheres to the cake. then pull the wax paper away. One of my friends uses this technique a lot (her user name is SmoochieFrog I think here) and she is very good at it. I personally, would go with the FBCT, but that's just me icon_smile.gif

The tooth pick method (I think) is where you poke tooth picks through the outline on the picture and then gently press the tooth picks into the frosting to create holes around the outline that you can then "draw" on with your frosting.

I hope you get the inspiration you need and good luck with your cakes!

fat-sissy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile