How To You Get Black Icing To Look Black?

Decorating By Marian Updated 14 Mar 2007 , 1:08am by have2kids

Marian Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marian Posted 2 Jun 2005 , 6:35pm
post #1 of 14

I know this may sound dumb to most of you, but I'm new at this cake stuff. I used wiltons icing color to turn my white icing black. After several hours it still looks kind of dark blue. I added more, but I'm afraid of adding to much. Will it eventually turn black? How far in advance should you tint icing to achive the correct color?

13 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 2 Jun 2005 , 6:48pm
post #2 of 14

Going from white to black can be really difficult and even if you do, you may end up with a bitter taste when using the Wilton black. If you start by adding cocoa powder to make chocolate, you can get to black easier. If you don't want the black to taste like chocolate, you can just tint it brown. You also might want to try using AmeriColor's Super Black. No aftertaste and you'll use less of it. I was able to get to black straightaway but you can usually stop adding color when the icing is a charcoal grey. Let it set overnight and it should be black by morning.

CDhartman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CDhartman Posted 2 Jun 2005 , 6:50pm
post #3 of 14

The easiest way to make black icing is to start with chocolate icing. You won't need to add much black coloring to it. I usually don't use much black icing at a time so I buy pre-made chocolate frosting from the grocery store and color it with black coloring. As a side note, its also easier to get red icing if you start with a pink icing first so I usually tint buttercream icing with pink first and then add the red coloring.

Hope that helps.

Cindy

Calejo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Calejo Posted 2 Jun 2005 , 8:20pm
post #4 of 14

huh! I'd never thought of that with the pink icing! I'm glad you asked the question! You learn something new everyday!