Feeling Overwhelmed...(Long)

Decorating By iluvcakes5 Updated 9 Jun 2007 , 3:34am by iluvcakes5

iluvcakes5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iluvcakes5 Posted 8 Jun 2007 , 3:35am
post #1 of 17

I am a newbie to the cake decorating world. I have had no formal teaching. I am basically taking on each cake as a challenge and if a bump in the road comes up I depend on you here at CC (by the way - THANK YOU). Well, what I thought was going to be a slow process in getting a cake business started has blossomed... Yes, I am greatful, but here is what I am dealing with and feeling and I need my friends here to help me get over this...PLEASE

First, I have no clue what I am doing!!! I love decorating cakes, but I have no idea what to charge. It seems to me that everyone wants Wal-mart prices, but homemade results!!!! I have no idea how much feeds how many. Yes, I have the Wilton book, but here in the South - cakes just aren't cut like those in Wilton. LOL!!! I feel like my cakes are doing so good because they are cute (definitely not even close to most of the cakes on this website) but I think that I am charging a lot less than what my cakes are worth. Yet, I feel like if I did not charge that price then I would not have any business because there are far better decorators out there. Basically, my cakes are good, but not flawless like the cakes are on here and like some of the other cake decorators around here.
Like tonight I got a call for a cake that will feed 60-70 people (a sheet cake) and the lady wants a garden. Some of the cake to look like grass and then she wants it to look like a garden (because that is her moms biggest joy in life) she even wants it to look like mulch!!! AWWWW!!! I have no idea where to even begin.
Basically, I do not know what I need (I do know that I need CC). Like how many icing bags should one have, what food colors to keep on hand,