Weird Email...

Business By wolfley29 Updated 7 Jun 2007 , 4:25am by wolfley29

wolfley29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wolfley29 Posted 6 Jun 2007 , 2:06am
post #1 of 9

I just recieved an email from someone I don't know at all, asking for advice on how to start a business:

I HAVE BEEN DOING CAKES FOR ABOUT 10 YEARS AND I'M REALLY READY TO DO
IT AS A BUSINESS CAN YOU PLEASE GIVE ME SOME POINTERS TO WHERE DO I
START
TO DO THE BUSINESS WHAT DO I NEED TO START. i KNOW IT'S DIFFERENT RULES
FOR DIFFERENT STATES, I'M IN ORLANDO, FLORIDA . PLEASE E-MAIL ME AT

Has anyone else received something like this? Not sure if I should be alarmed or not.

8 replies
beccakelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beccakelly Posted 6 Jun 2007 , 2:51am
post #2 of 9

thats really weird. why would someone in orlando florida email you in arkansas? it doesn't make sense, i don't think i would respond. im starting my biz soon, so im researching local cake decorators and bakeries in my city. not across the country.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 6 Jun 2007 , 3:03am
post #3 of 9

I have never seen an email like that.

But I would respond the same way most of us do when the topic comes up here on CC.

Dear ....,
Rules are different for every state. The equipment you will need will depend on your state, county, and city requirements. The following are the first places I recommend you start your search in as I am not up to date with laws in Florida.
1) You need to contact your local health department.
2) You need to contact your local business department

wolfley29 Posted 6 Jun 2007 , 4:38am
post #4 of 9

beccakelly, sorry to laugh, but AK is Alaska. That is why I was so concerned about it, being clear across the country.
leily, thank you for the response wording. I was trying to figure out a tactful way to put it, but since I have been up since 3am, I wasn't thinking clearly.

mypastrychef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile