Make An Eggless Cake Mix ?

Decorating By chattycathy Updated 30 May 2005 , 8:18pm by m0use

chattycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chattycathy Posted 30 May 2005 , 6:42am
post #1 of 6

I had an order for an eggless cake , I have never done this before .
My customer brought me a box of something called egg substitute , it's a powder. I took the price of the stuff off of her total price.It said to mix one tsp of powder with 2 tbsp water for each egg called for in the recipe .
Turns out that it's just cornstarch and baking powder which I could have added with out buying this stuff .
Any way , the cake did not rise , it looks funky and from what I can tell it's salty and bitter ! (tasted the crumbs ) icon_sad.gif
I am so worried that this cake will tarnish my reputation icon_cry.gif
Does anyone have a tried and true method for making an eggless cake from a mix ? I only use mixes.
Thanks Cathy

5 replies
auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 30 May 2005 , 11:22am
post #2 of 6

The problem with substitutes is that sometimes the recipe will not work.

It is better to work with a recipe that does not use eggs in the first place:

Try one of these:

EGGLESS CHOCOLATE FUDGE CAKE
4 oz soya margarine
1 1/4 c soya milk
2 tablespoons of golden syrup
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
8 oz plain flour
2 oz cocoa
8 oz sugar
Melt margarine, syrup and soya milk, except 4 tablespoons in a saucepan. Dissolve the bicarbonate of soda in remaining soya milk. Sieve all the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl. Add the wet ingredients and mix thoroughly. Line an 8" (20cm) baking tin with greaseproof paper or baking parchment. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake in oven 180C for ½ hour. Reduce to 160C for 1¼ hours. Once cooled, cover with melted dairy-free chocolate. Yum!

EGGLESS WHITE CAKE
1 c Sugar
1/3 c Butter
2 c Flour
1/2 ts Salt
1/2 ts Baking powder
1/2 ts Baking soda
1 1/2 c Sour milk