Do All Of You Do This?

Decorating By Cakeasyoulikeit Updated 16 Jul 2006 , 9:12pm by Steady2Hands

Cakeasyoulikeit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeasyoulikeit Posted 15 Jul 2006 , 12:53pm
post #1 of 27

Do all of you use one long dowel though the whole stacked cake (mainly weddings) to finish off the doweling? If so, how do you get it sharp enough to push through the cardboard pieces once the cake is assembled?

26 replies
psurrette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psurrette Posted 15 Jul 2006 , 12:56pm
post #2 of 27

sharpen it with a pencil sharpener

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 15 Jul 2006 , 12:56pm
post #3 of 27

Use a sharp paring knife or exacto knife and sharpen it like you would a stick from the forest when you were young to toast marshmellows and weinies.

mjlaw78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjlaw78 Posted 15 Jul 2006 , 12:57pm
post #4 of 27

I am new at this but took a class on wedding cakes and they said to always use the long dowel to keep your cakes from moving and to get it through the cardboard you sharpen one end of it with a pencil sharpener. Hope that helps, I am sure that are probably others ways also.

Cakeasyoulikeit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeasyoulikeit Posted 15 Jul 2006 , 1:23pm
post #5 of 27

you guys are life savers...thanks!

loriemoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loriemoms Posted 15 Jul 2006 , 1:28pm
post #6 of 27

I also buy wooden skewers that are made to cook shishkabob and stuff like that. They are very cheap and very sharp and do a great job!
I can just push a couple through the cake, no need for a hammer or anything.

yummyhobby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummyhobby Posted 15 Jul 2006 , 1:59pm
post #7 of 27

Do you guys do this as a rule for any cake over two tiers or do you still do it on a two tier stacked cake? Just curious since I am doing my first stacked cake today.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile