The Price Of The Cakes We Make

Business By S_S_SweetTooth Updated 12 Aug 2005 , 5:26am by MarinersFan

S_S_SweetTooth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
S_S_SweetTooth Posted 28 May 2005 , 3:48am
post #1 of 17

Hi everyone icon_biggrin.gif I am new at this and would like to ask a question. How do you all decide on what to charge for your cakes? You know 1/4 sheet, 1/2 sheet, full sheet, and the round ones and so on. The wedding cakes too. what do you guy charge? I ask this because I had two people tell me no thanks, that they can get it cheaper at WalMart. I told them it would not be as good in a nice way. How do you compete with places like that?

S_S_SweetTooth

16 replies
magentaa23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
magentaa23 Posted 28 May 2005 , 3:54am
post #2 of 17

i charge $2.00 a person base price for buttercream extra for filling and whatnot.... i do alot of shaped cakes and hand drawings.. they arent gonna get that at walmart... if they want a cheap cake .. let them go there if they want quality then they can call me icon_smile.gif

ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 28 May 2005 , 4:11am
post #3 of 17

S_S_SweetTooth, when they say that to me, I tell them, if you want a personalized cake that someone takes time and creates just for you, I'm your person .. if you want a cheap cake and you don't care what it really looks like, go to WalMart ...

I actually spoke with a woman who was shopping in Michaels and had a question about cake decorating supplies who decorated cakes at WalMart (the cashier didn't know the answer as she didn't cake decorate, so I answered her question, lol) ... she said she put reverse shells for her borders on a cake and was told not to do that again .. to just to straight shells in one direction because they didn't have time to do anything fancy or different...

so how I feel about it is, if they don't want to pay my price, go to WalMart and buy a cake icon_smile.gif