Are Some People Crazy?

Decorating By AmandaPanda Updated 2 Jun 2007 , 6:54pm by aobodessa

AmandaPanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmandaPanda Posted 30 May 2007 , 7:18pm
post #1 of 23

A friend of mine was browsing craigslist and came upon this post .... I am new to the cake thing and need the practice but I don't know if I am desperate enough to take on a client with this kind of ad ...http://nashville.craigslist.org/wan/340619941.html

She says they will buy the materials needed minus the pans and then negotiate a price from there! AND she wants references so make sure they are choosing the RIGHT person? Hmmmm ... something just doesn't seem right to me about that. I mean if you are desperate enough to have a cake that cheap you really can't be picky about WHO does your cake and chances are someone that DOES have references is way above doing that kind of work .... is it just me or does this post sound like she is going to be too picky/choose for someone not willing to shell out the money for a GOOD cake?

22 replies
kayscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kayscake Posted 30 May 2007 , 7:29pm
post #2 of 23

Amandapanda, I'm with you I would not go near that one. I wouldn't want someone else telling or supplying me with the materials I use and then do it for very little money. You expect people to check out your work and make sure they like your cake, but I don't think you should jump through hoops for next to nothing. Then again maybe she's not picky and just hopes that she can get a good decorator with a kind heart!

AmandaPanda Posted 30 May 2007 , 7:32pm
post #3 of 23

yeah that is true ... I dunno I would do something inexpensively for someone who really needs it, especially since I am just starting out but after saying that they will provide the materials then wanting references? I dunno sounds a little weird, maybe I am reading too much into it ....

pmw109 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pmw109 Posted 30 May 2007 , 7:34pm
post #4 of 23