Want To Try Fbct, Please Help!

Decorating By cakecastle Updated 30 May 2007 , 2:10pm by coolchc21

cakecastle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakecastle Posted 29 May 2007 , 7:23pm
post #1 of 22

I'm still currently in Course 1 and we're doing the piping gel method, but I would like to try a fbct on a cake for my daughter's birthday in a few weeks. I read the tutorial, but still have a couple questions (sorry if they are stupid questions but I'm still very new to this) icon_smile.gif .

Do you thin the buttercream more than you would thin it to ice the cake? Also which tip do you use to fill in the color after outlining? Thanks for any help you can offer!

Stephanie ~ cake bakin' momma to 6 girls icon_biggrin.gif

21 replies
shelbur10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shelbur10 Posted 29 May 2007 , 7:47pm
post #2 of 22

Yes, I make my BC fairly thin, but not too much. Just slightly thinner than I use on the cake. I'm sorry, I don't know how to describe it.
I use tip 2 or maybe 3 if I have a fairly large area to fill it.
HTH

weberm05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weberm05 Posted 29 May 2007 , 8:12pm
post #3 of 22

I usually use tip 5 to fill in a large area

Personally I wouldn't recommend using the already made Wilton black icing in a tube....I had bad experience with it..but everyone's different.

Don't worry...you'll be amazing how the FBCT all comes together. You'll love it!

meldancer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meldancer Posted 29 May 2007 , 8:20pm
post #4 of 22

I was very nervous with my first transfer but it went pretty smooth and was really fun! Just be sure to smooth your frosting before you freeze, otherwise you will get a "wormy" look to the image. You can see what I mean in my LarryBoy cake, he looks like he has intestines!

You'll love doing them! Good luck!

shkepa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shkepa Posted 29 May 2007 , 8:29pm
post #5 of 22

what do you mean by smooth the icing????