Fundraiser Suggestion Anyone?

Baking By alicegop Updated 3 Jun 2007 , 2:19pm by alicegop

alicegop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alicegop Posted 26 May 2007 , 9:56pm
post #1 of 16

The girl across the street is trying to raise $2000 for a trip to New York. A teacher at the school is taking a group of kids, but it is not sponsored by the school. (As a teacher myself I will get different travel companies putting brochures into my box at school with travel packages for students and if enough kids sign up then the teacher gets to travel for free. The school usually will allow bulletin announcements, signs to be put up, etc... but it technically is not a school event but a great opportunity for the kids)

The kids have to come up with their own fundraiser! We just found out on Thursday that there is an $80 deposit due on the first. So we made 14 cookie bouquets (7 in a pot with a bow and 7 in a chinese take out box. 5 cookies each) and set up in front of walmart for a few hours. Only sold 4 icon_sad.gificon_eek.gif

At $15 each we made back the supplies cost, but still need to fundraise the $80. I'm really surprised it was a hard sell........ does anyone have any ideas? The bouquets are cute and I've sold them for $15 to my friends and things, but since it isn't a special occassion it is harder to promote I guess.

Any suggestions are appreciated! They are going to try and sell some at church tomorrow........

15 replies
momthreekiddos Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momthreekiddos Posted 26 May 2007 , 10:18pm
post #2 of 16

My first thought...... sell them individually. A cookie on a stick, wrapped (using a fold over baggie w/o the zipper is cheap!), and tied with a ribbon. See if this goes over better! For some people, a couple of bucks vs $15 would be more reasonable.

momthreekiddos Posted 26 May 2007 , 10:21pm
post #3 of 16