Imbc-- I Tried It.. Hubby Loves It.. Kids Love It.. I Love I

Decorating By lilthorner Updated 30 Jun 2006 , 6:28am by ninaross

lilthorner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilthorner Posted 30 Jun 2006 , 5:22am
post #1 of 11

I finally (after much reading) tried IMBC tonight. I bopught just whites or whatever they are called. it was great! at least out of the bowl it is great. I havent eaten a piece of the cake yet.

the kids kept wasling by and getting the icignthat I dropped on the counter. I also practiced (for the first time) scroll work..I think it looks really nice although it is my first time.. I posted a pic in my gallery

10 replies
ckkerber Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ckkerber Posted 30 Jun 2006 , 5:24am
post #2 of 11

which recipe for IMBC did you try? I haven't tried it yet so if you have a good recipe, please share. Your cake looks great . . . did you do the scrolls freehand or did you use imprints? Very nice!

vpaz24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vpaz24 Posted 30 Jun 2006 , 5:29am
post #3 of 11

I have been afraid to try it because I keep reading about the possibility of saminila poisoning from the raw eggs. Does anyone know any more details about that?

PS - Your cake looks really good!

lilthorner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilthorner Posted 30 Jun 2006 , 5:31am
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckkerber

which recipe for IMBC did you try? I haven't tried it yet so if you have a good recipe, please share. Your cake looks great . . . did you do the scrolls freehand or did you use imprints? Very nice!

Thank yuo! I did the scrolls freehand (probably why they all look like they are going the same way)

i used martha sewarts IMBC recipe that has been posted here:

Italian Meringue Buttercream
1 1/4 cups sugar
5 large egg whites
Pinch of cream of tartar
1 pound (4 sticks) unsalted butter, chilled
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract