Gum Paste Bow - Aauugghh!!

Decorating By aggiecakes Updated 29 Jun 2006 , 7:50pm by TexasSugar

aggiecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aggiecakes Posted 28 Jun 2006 , 11:27pm
post #1 of 10

Is there a trick to getting a neat bow???? This is my first time and I used gum paste and it just looks like a mess. I can't seem to get the loops close enough together to hide the blob of royal icing in the middle and then my loops keep breaking! How long should I let the gum paste dry? Frustrating!!

9 replies
peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 29 Jun 2006 , 12:27am
post #2 of 10

Let the gumpaste dry until hard. And can i suggest using chocolate to stick the bow together, it hardens much faster then royal

aggiecakes Posted 29 Jun 2006 , 2:44am
post #3 of 10

What kind of chocolate do you use - like the candy melts? Can coloring be added to make it the same color as the bow? I think I may also have made my loops too long. What is a good length? Thanks for the help!

Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 29 Jun 2006 , 2:53am
post #4 of 10

This tells you how on this site in the artical section.

How to Make a Fondant Loop Bow
Molly2

aggiecakes Posted 29 Jun 2006 , 2:56am
post #5 of 10

Thanks - I'll take a look at that!

QueLinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
QueLinda Posted 29 Jun 2006 , 3:02am
post #6 of 10

Thanks peg818 for the chocolate trick, I'm going to make my first bow tomorrow.

Does anyone have any more "tricks/tips"?

Love the article on how to make fondant bows, looks to be a great tutorial.

Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 29 Jun 2006 , 3:04am
post #7 of 10

I think the trick is how thick you roll you fondant I made one it took about 3 days to dry but it was heavy and some of the loops broke I'm thinking of buying a pasta maker I here that helps a lot with the thick nest of making things with fondant.

Molly