Gumpaste Flowers Book By Wilton? Ugly???

Decorating By springlakecake Updated 20 Jun 2006 , 6:52pm by springlakecake

springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 16 Jun 2006 , 5:50pm
post #1 of 12

So I just went to the store and bought the Wilton book and kit on how to create gumpaste flowers. I have never worked with gumpaste or fondant before and I have seen so many beautiful flowers that look so real on this site. Anyway I am thumbing through the book and the flowers in there look..well...um...ugly! I was just curious how people learned and what is used to create these beautiful flowers I have seen. I just dont think people must be using the cutters in this book. Thanks!

11 replies
missyek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missyek Posted 16 Jun 2006 , 6:00pm
post #2 of 12

If you are just learning, it is a good starting point. My aunt who does INCREDIBLE flowers, learned using the Wilton instructions and cutters. Once she felt comfortable, she then moved up to bigger and better cutters. She did mention that she does still have a few cutters left that she still uses today. Have to keep in mind too, that the book has not been updated, so the pictures are fairly old. I bet if they re-did it today, they would look a lot better.

TamiAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TamiAZ Posted 16 Jun 2006 , 6:01pm
post #3 of 12

Wilton's gumpaste books is very outdated.. I would imagine they may update it in the next few years, but I could be wrong. I learned making flowers from taking classes, videos and books. I love Nicholas Lodge's dvd's... They are very reasonable ($20) and he's an awesome instructor. I have Scott Clark Woolley's book and I use his cutters and veiners. His dvd is a little too pricey for me.

prettycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycake Posted 16 Jun 2006 , 6:02pm
post #4 of 12