How Many Cakes A Week?

Business By cmmom Updated 12 Jun 2006 , 2:42pm by tiptop57

cmmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmmom Posted 4 Jun 2006 , 4:50am
post #1 of 19

I'm new to the business. My story is the usual - took the Wilton classes a couple years ago, started decorating for friends and family. Then a year ago friends of friends started asking me to sell them cakes and I started my business. In the past two months, business is really picking up (communions, graduations, etc.). And then lately I'm making 3-5 cakes a weekend! (THAT's A LOT FOR ME - I usually have anywhere from 0-2 cakes a week)

I'm a SAHM and have a 3-1/2 and 2 year old daughters and with all these cake orders, I feel like I'm missing out with them. Since they are so small, I keep them inside on beautiful days so I could somewhat keep an eye on them. I feel horrible for doing this. Does anyone feel like this or is it just me?

I bake and freeze all my cakes on Tuesday night, make all my icing on Wed night and then Thurs and Friday I decorate. I'm still new to this so it takes me longer than the people doing this for years (my whole Thurs and Fridays are completely taken up with decorating and then cleaning up).

How many cakes do you do on average? And how do you do it with your kids? I'm kind of thinking putting a limit on my cake orders each week so I'm not overwelmed. Does 2-3 cakes sound reasonable?

Thanks for letting me getting this off my chest.

Sorry for all the questions.

18 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 4 Jun 2006 , 4:58am
post #2 of 19

Pick an amount you feel comfortable. Can you do 2 cakes a week and still give you plenty of times with the kiddos? What about 3? Do you feel overwhelmed with doing 2 cakes a week? 3?

You shouldn't have to lose out with time with your childern, unless you really need the money from cakes. As you feel more comfortable or the kids get older you can up the number of cakes you want to do.