Color Flow

Decorating By momof3jotynjake Updated 12 May 2005 , 3:26pm by momof3jotynjake

momof3jotynjake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momof3jotynjake Posted 11 May 2005 , 3:23pm
post #1 of 18

Hello! well, i started course 2 yestereday! gonna be fun fun fun!!
I was talking to my instructor about my communion cake this sat and how i can do the cross. she said to read over color flow and do a color flow. SOunds llike a great idea! but,,, the ingrediants to color flow make so much!! 1lb pow. sug. 2 tbsp color flow, 1/4 water... isnt that a lot to make a cross?
Anyone have what it would take to break it down? im not too good at doing those calculations. I always mess up!! icon_redface.gif
Since this will be my 1st time.. any helpful hints??? I have no idea what to do!
thank you!!

17 replies
momof3jotynjake Posted 11 May 2005 , 3:29pm
post #2 of 18

I see in the book that you can use royal icing in place of the color flow mix? will that be ok? Cause i wont waste anything. left over icing, i can take to class with me next week!

CIndymm4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CIndymm4 Posted 11 May 2005 , 3:34pm
post #3 of 18

You could use the royal icing but you're going to have to thin it down to to do the flood work.....why don't you make up a batch of color flow and go ahead and do your color flow stuff for your class at the same time....the instructions are in the book on what you'll be doing......I did my birds in class but too much pressue there and ended up doing different ones at home and they turned out much better. Just a thought.

Ladycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladycake Posted 11 May 2005 , 3:35pm
post #4 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by momof3jotynjake

I see in the book that you can use royal icing in place of the color flow mix? will that be ok? Cause i wont waste anything. left over icing, i can take to class with me next week!