Luster Dust Question???

Decorating By mlynnb Updated 28 May 2006 , 11:02pm by leta

mlynnb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mlynnb Posted 27 May 2006 , 11:53pm
post #1 of 9

I was just reading another post about items that are not food-safe, and in it luster dusts were listed. I'm not a professional decorator, just a hobbyist, and just used a dust for the first time to accent fondant dots on a buttercream cake. Now, I am freaking out because I didn't know--I just assumed that if they were to be used on a cake, they would be edible. Again, it was just for accents. Is there anyone out there with experience in this matter? This cake was for a friend's daughter's graduation party---should I call her and say anything? The party was this afternoon. Thanks for any info I can get.

8 replies
vixterfsu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vixterfsu Posted 28 May 2006 , 12:01am
post #2 of 9

Luster dusts are food safe in the US, but haven't
been approved in Canada. All the famous
decorators use it and they have no problem.

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 28 May 2006 , 12:01am
post #3 of 9

Luster dust is considered non toxic, therefore it shouldn't hurt anyone that eats it. I have eaten it before and i'm still here. So personally i wouldn't bother to say anything, and if you are uncomfortable using it just don't use it anymore.

mlynnb Posted 28 May 2006 , 12:14am
post #4 of 9

Thank you for the prompt replies...I feel much better. I certainly don't want to use anything that could potentially hurt anyone. I was just making sure. Thanks again.

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 28 May 2006 , 12:15am
post #5 of 9