Mmf Or Store Bought?

Baking By Amish Updated 1 Jun 2006 , 4:37am by leta

Amish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amish Posted 27 May 2006 , 2:57pm
post #1 of 5

I am a beginner when it comes to working with fondant, but really love the look. I'm getting married in September and wanted to use fondant to cover my cakes. Well, for my course III I covered a 6 inch cake didn't turn out to bad. A week, later I covered another 6 inch cake I did even better. I had high hopes and thought mabye I will get this down before Sept. After trying to cover a 2 layer 9in cake all hope was lost. I was using store bought fondant because my instructor said making the fondant was more trouble than it was really worth. After I finally got it rolled out it kept ripping I was sweating pretty badly at this point beause the fodant got really hard to roll out because of drying. Partially I guess from me having to roll it back into a ball several times because of it ripping while I was rolling it out. I was so frustrated that I just peeled it off of my cake and recoverd it with icing. Is it always so time consuming? I have a 7 month old baby and find myself rushing to do everything. Now I'm just down in the dumps because I bought all these contoured pans because I know they look great covered in fondant, but don't know if I will even use them now. At least not covered in fondant. I don't know? Should I just try to cover them in icing? I know that getting good at fondant takes a lot of practice and I don't have that much time to devote to it. My question for you is do you think that using MMF is easier. And I would be very gratefull for any tips on icing and smoothing a contoured cake. Some people have mentioned using fingers and viva paper towels i think I will give that a shot. Also do you use a large rolling pin when rolling out fondant. For my class I bought a small plastic one , but mabye it would help to get a larger one? What do think?

4 replies