Decorating Cakes With Flowers

Decorating By hynest Updated 31 May 2006 , 12:55pm by hynest

hynest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hynest Posted 26 May 2006 , 4:19pm
post #1 of 14

icon_redface.gif I am new at making bc roses and I am not having good results. I have also tried the mmf which had better results but very time consuming. Does anyone use fake flowers or real ? I want to make a nice cake for my mom - who is visiting this wekend. I can manage to get a nice basketweave - but I am at a loss for the cake top. I was imagining a basket of flowers icon_rolleyes.gif I have tried the bc roses on a stick ................ mine look nothing like the picture !?! Are there easier flowers to make than the rose for a beginner? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.[/url]

13 replies
mmdd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmdd Posted 26 May 2006 , 4:25pm
post #2 of 14

I make my roses out of royal, not bc.

The only advice I can give is to keep practicing!

Is there any specific thing you're having a problem with?

Maybe post a pic of your flowers in this thread and maybe we can SEE where you could use a little help.

Good Luck!

hynest Posted 26 May 2006 , 4:40pm
post #3 of 14

my bc roses are droopy, with little shape. I have a hard time shaping the rose on the nail. I'll take a pic later and post it. Is royal easy to work with ?

kisha311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kisha311 Posted 26 May 2006 , 4:46pm
post #4 of 14

If you are having trouble making the roses on the stick, how about making them on a flower nail? It may be a little easier if youo can control the base build up.

Also, is your icing stiff enough? That was the problem I was having for the longest time.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 26 May 2006 , 4:51pm
post #5 of 14

What BC recipe are you usning? It sound like it isn't stiff enough. There is a recipe on here for BC frosting for roses, just do a search in recipes. Hope this helps