Need Some Help Before I Quit Completely!

Decorating By egarman Updated 25 May 2006 , 3:47am by egarman

egarman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
egarman Posted 25 May 2006 , 12:59am
post #1 of 11

OK...I've been decorating cakes for a little more than 22 years; took a class WAY back after I was self-taught. I only took it to learn flowers- - specifically roses. That didn't happen; nor has it in the years since. So, I decided to take another class. Very determined to learn to make roses and others. Well, next week is Week 3 and I practiced last night till I just threw the icing across the table. Got up crying. I can make beautiful "cabbages." icon_cry.gif What I want to know is this: why does my icing come out of the tip (104) and it's not smooth on the top side; it's "ruffled" (for a better word)? I've had the icing so stiff I could hardly squeeze the bag and had it medium too. Took the tip and made sure the opening was OK. No changes. Sorry this is so long but I am REALLY frustrated. icon_mad.gif HELP! Thanks.
Ellen

10 replies
Jenn123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenn123 Posted 25 May 2006 , 1:04am
post #2 of 11

Open the tip more???

Lemondrop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lemondrop Posted 25 May 2006 , 1:05am
post #3 of 11

Ellen,

Please don't give up. It sounds like your icing is a bit too stiff. Also, alot of people put some piping gel into the icing to make it smooth. If you don't have any on hand, try a bit of corn syrup.

Good luck,

Denise

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 25 May 2006 , 1:05am
post #4 of 11

Sorry, Elen! I feel your pain! I can only make cabbages too! Someone posted a tip on here to add a little piping gel to your icing so you don't get raggedy edges. Maybe that will help. I haven't tried it yet/.

mrboop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrboop Posted 25 May 2006 , 1:09am
post #5 of 11