New To The World Of Cake Decorating!!!

Decorating By Jessica21 Updated 2 May 2007 , 3:22pm by Jessica21

Jessica21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jessica21 Posted 2 May 2007 , 2:59pm
post #1 of 7

Hey everyone...I'm so happy I stumbled across this wonderful web-site. I'm an avid baker so my next adventure is cake decorating. I'm going through some pictures and I guess for starters I want to try and make a small two tiered topsy turvy (cakecentral talk=mad hatter cake : ) ) Any ideas on how to start this? Also, is it necessary to use angel food cake for the cake or will a plain white cake mix do? I appreciate any suggestions!!!

6 replies
NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 2 May 2007 , 3:06pm
post #2 of 7

Welcome to CC and the fun of cake decorating!! Definately take the time to read as much as you can on here, there is so much to learn on this website=) When I first joined I actually went to the last page and worked my way back, it is unreal all the stuff that there is to learn and the neat tricks these awesome CC members share with us! Here is a link to a tutorial on that type of cake....

http://www.cakecentral.com/article1-Instructions-For-Building-A-Whimsical-Tilted-Cake.html

A bunch of awesome tutorials on CC....

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-guides.html

GL and make sure to post some pics when you are done! Jen

loncake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loncake Posted 2 May 2007 , 3:07pm
post #3 of 7

Welcome, I'm new too, I am sooooo happy I found this website, if not I'd be lost. Everyone on here knows anything you could/would ever want to know! I don't think it matters what kind of cake you use for a topsy turvy cake, just make sure you support it well, or you will have a mess on your hands. Hope that helps.

mgdqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgdqueen Posted 2 May 2007 , 3:08pm
post #4 of 7