Airbrushing.. Messy

Decorating By tinacr Updated 1 May 2007 , 11:31pm by jenbenjr

tinacr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tinacr Posted 30 Apr 2007 , 8:14pm
post #1 of 10

I'm new at airbrushing.. but i made a cake and the spray goes everywhere around the cake and on the board. What do you do to keep it from going everywhere? I tried to put wax paper under the edges but when i removed it the icing pulled and white was showing. I was making a playstation and didn't want a boarder.

What also do you think is the best way to practice the airbrush and projector? Always on a cake or on paper towels?

9 replies
step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 30 Apr 2007 , 8:26pm
post #2 of 10

Whenever I use Wilton color mists I HAVE to put down newspaper...ALL OVER THE SURFACE! It does go every where! icon_confused.gif
If you didn't have a border you could use the less sticky painters tape.
Go to aceofcakes.com and watch them make the Cambell's Soup cake and you'll see what I mean! very Helpful!
Good luck for next time! icon_biggrin.gif

cupcakegirl27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakegirl27 Posted 1 May 2007 , 9:23pm
post #3 of 10

I went to the paint section and bought a couple of big plastic painters tarps for when I airbrush. That way it doesnt get all over the carpet, I also use one on the walls too.

markbolin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
markbolin Posted 1 May 2007 , 10:58pm
post #4 of 10

I hate to say it but there really is no solution to your problem. I have my airbrush station set up in my shop so my wife doesnt kill me for getting color all over the kitchen. As the others stated you need to cover your entire work station when using the airbrush. It is such a fine mist that it can carry for 10 to 20 ft. As for the the cake board use a board that is coated that way you can wipe the overspray off with a paper towell when your done.

chaptlps Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chaptlps Posted 1 May 2007 , 11:05pm
post #5 of 10